Elections at #ASP19- Results

During the 19th ASP session, States elected a number of key positions in the Rome Statute system in an almost complete turnover of leadership, including six Judges, the ICC Prosecutor and the ASP Presidency and Bureau for the ASP20 (2021) to ASP22 (2023).

Judicial Elections

Six ICC Judges have been elected out of the 18 that compose the ICC bench. The election follows the Court’s regular judicial elections process, which replaces a third of the 18 judges every three years. The new judges will serve a nine-year term expected to begin in March 2021.

    The six newly elected judges are: 

    • Joanna Korner (United Kingdom) (List A);
    • Gocha Lordikpanidze (Georgia) (List B);
    • Miatta Maria Samba (Sierra Leone) (List A);
    • María del Socorro Flores Liera (Mexico) (List B);
    • Sergio Ugalde Godinez (Costa Rica) (List B); and
    • Althea Violet Alexis-Windsor (Trinidad and Tobago) (List A)


    In the first round of voting, Judge Joanna Korner (United Kingdom) was elected with 85 votes. In the second round of voting, Mr. Gocha Lordkipanidze (Georgia) was elected with 76 votes. In the third round of Voting, Miatta Maria Samba of Sierra Leone was elected with 83 votes.   In the fourth round of voting Ms. Maria del Socorro Flores Liera (Mexico) and Mr. Sergio Ugalde Godinez (Costa Rica) were both elected with 87 votes. In the fifth, sixth and seventh rounds of voting no judge was elected. In the eighth round of voting, Althea Violet Alexis-Windsor (Trinidad and Tobago) was elected with 86 votes. 

    The outgoing judges are:  Judge Chile Eboe-Osuji (Nigeria) (ICC President); Judge Robert Fremr (Czech Republic) (ICC First Vice President); Judge Howard Morrison (United Kingdom); Judge Olga Herrera-Carbuccia (Dominican Republic); Judge Geoffrey Henderson (Trinidad and Tobago); and Judge Raul Cano Pangalangan (Philippines).

    The remaining judges, in addition to the six newly elected, are:  Judge Chang-ho Chung (Republic of Korea); Judge Piotr Hofmanski (Poland); Judge Bertram Schmitt (Germany); Judge Péter Kováck (Hungary); Judge Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua (Democratic Republic of Congo); Judge Marc Perrin De Brichambaut (France) (ICC Second Vice President); Judge Tomoko Akane (Japan); Judge Luz del Carmen Ibanez-Carranza (Peru); Judge Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda); Judge Kimberly Prost (Canada); Judge Rosario Aitala (Italy); and Judge Reine Alapini-Gansou (Benin).

    ICC Judicial elections results are available on the ASP Website

    Check the election resultsRead less

    Prosecutor Election

    The Assembly of States Parties elected by secret ballot Mr Karim Khan (United Kingdom) as the next Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court. 

    The Assembly decided to reconvene in a second resumed session to elect the ICC Prosecutor in early 2021, to allow for further consultations among States Parties after the opening up of the CEP shortlist of candidates in November 2020.  In December 2020, the 9 candidates took part in Public Hearings organized by the ASP President O-Gon Kwon and co-moderated by States Parties and Civil society. After the hearings, States Parties engaged in 4 rounds of consultations guided by the ASP Presidency and 5 Regional Focal Points with the aim of identifying a consensus candidate. 

    The Assembly proceeded to elect the prosecutor by secret ballot after ascertaining the impossibility to identify a consensus candidate. During the first round of voting, no candidate obtained the absolute majority of the 123 States Parties. Mr. Khan was elected ICC Prosecutor in the second round of voting with 72 votes, 10 more than the 62 necessary to be elected. 

    The following votes were received:

    • Carlos CASTRESANA FERNÁNDEZ (Spain): 5
    • Fergal GAYNOR (Ireland): 42
    • Karim KHAN (UK): 72
    • Francesco LO VOI (Italy): 3

    The ICC Prosecutor is elected for a non-renewable nine-year term by the ICC Assembly of States Parties. Mr. Khan will take office after the end of the term of the Current Prosecutor, Ms Fatou Bensouda, on 15 June 2021.

    Elections results are available on the ASP Website

    Check the election resultsRead less

    #ElectTheBest to lead the fight against impunity

    At the 19th session of the Assembly of State Parties (ASP) in December 2020, States will elect a number of key positions in the Rome Statute system in an almost complete turnover of leadership, including six Judges and the ICC Prosecutor.

    The Coalition has consistently campaigned to ensure states nominate and elect only the most highly qualified individuals as ICC officials through fair, transparent and merit-based processes, an essential step towards strengthening the institution’s credibility, transparency and impartiality.

    Governments must nominate and elect the best leaders to the Court to ensure the impartial execution of decisions, and the effective delivery of justice for victims of heinous crimes. 

    Read on to get the latest updates on nominations, meet the candidates, and learn about all the elections taking place in 2020. 

    Read more on ICC/ASP election processes

    CICC Members' advocacy on ICC Elections

    A number of important positions in the Rome Statute system will be filled at ASP 2020, including six judicial vacancies, the next ICC Prosecutor, the ASP president and two ASP vice-presidents, and six members of the Committee on Budget and Finance. 


    The Campaign on ICC/ASP Elections

    Civil society plays an important role in monitoring the election of ICC and ASP officials. 
    Ahead of the 2020 elections, civil society is urging States Parties to nominate only the most highly-qualified candidates and to ensure a fair, transparent, and merit-based selection process.

    As part of the elections campaign, civil society asked judicial and prosecutorial candidates to complete questionnaires regarding their vision, background, qualifications, experience and views on international justice and the ICC. We are proud to have achieved nearly universal participation by ICC elections candidates to our questionnaire since the first elections 2003.

    Check out the questionnaires sent to the candidates:


    The Coalition does not endorse or oppose any individual candidates, and strongly opposes reciprocal political agreements (“vote-trading”) in all ICC and ASP elections. 

    Voices from the Coalition

    Civil society members of the Coalition play a key role in monitoring and advocating for the integrity of nomination and election processes.

    Check out our members' resources

    For more information

    Check out the Coalition Campaign on ICC 2017 Elections and visit our old website to learn more about past elections campaigns. Information includes related papers, civil society advocacy, former candidate questionnaires, previous elections' results and more. Please find additional information on the ASP website.

    Or drop us a line at Tonella@coalitionfortheicc.org