Afghanistan

L’Afghanistan a adhéré au Statut de Rome en février 2003. En 2007, la CPI a annoncé l’ouverture d’une enquête préliminaire examinant les comportements des forces non-gouvernementales et gouvernementales afghanes et étrangères après le 1er mai 2003.
Regions: 
Asie-Pacifique
L’Afghanistan a adhéré au Statut de Rome en février 2003 mais n’a pas ratifié l’agrément sur les privilèges et l’immunité de la CPI, ni les amendements de Kampala. L’actuel code pénal afghan n’inclue pas les crimes internationaux ni la coopération avec la CPI.

L’Afghanistan, théâtre de nombreuses périodes de guerre civile depuis les années 70, a encore connu plus de dix ans de conflit après l’invasion du pays par les Etats-Unis suite aux attentats du 11 septembre. En 2007, le procureur de la CPI a annoncé l’ouverture d’une enquête préliminaire pour établir si les comportements des forces gouvernementales afghanes et étrangères, de même que les forces non-gouvernementales telles que les Taliban, après le 1er mai 2003, pouvaient constituer des crimes de guerre et crimes contre l’humanité.

Background
Après les attentats du 11 septembre aux Etats-Unis par les Talibans, l’invasion de l’Afghanistan par les USA a engendré plus de dix ans de guerre dans le pays. La coalition d'alliés dirigée par les États-Unis, rejointe par l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord en 2003, a lancé des attaques aériennes et des opérations terrestres en Afghanistan pour chasser les Talibans du pouvoir et démanteler le groupe terroriste Al-Qaeda, responsable des attaques contre le World Trade Center à New York. Un gouvernement transitoire afghan a été mis en place en 2002, et le Conseil de sécurité de l'ONU a par la suite créé la Force internationale d'assistance à la sécurité (ISAF) par la Résolution 1386. Destinée à aider le gouvernement afghan à combattre les Talibans et d'autres groupes armés, l'ISAF est ensuite passée sous le commandement de l'OTAN. Les forces internationales se sont retirées des combats en Afghanistan en décembre 2014, bien qu'un nouveau groupe de forces plus restreint soit encore présent pour dispenser une formation et apporter une assistance aux forces de sécurité afghanes. Du début de la guerre au retrait des forces internationales, 26 000 morts ont été recensés et plus de 29 900 civils blessés.
ICC situation

Le Bureau du procureur à la CPI a réalisé en 2007 l’enquête préliminaire sur la situation en Afghanistan. Dans l’un de ces examens préliminaires, le procureur a examiné les crimes de guerre et crimes contre l’humanité qui auraient été commis sur le territoire afghan après le 1er mai 2003.

Le Bureau du procureur a des raisons de croire que des crimes de guerre et des crimes contre l’humanité ont été commis et continuent à être commis par des forces gouvernementales afghanes et étrangères, et par des forces non-gouvernementales telles que les Talibans. Avant de porter ces crimes devant la CPI, le procureur examine la situation afin de voir si des poursuites pénales existent au niveau national.

L’évaluation de cette admissibilité devant la CPI ne regarde pas seulement du côté des procédures pénales en Afghanistan mais aussi du côté des Etats-Unis et d’autres pays de l’OTAN susceptibles d’avoir sanctionné des comportements illicites comme prévu par le Statut de Rome. Il y a eu peu de preuves de poursuites nationales significatives selon la société civile.

Le procureur continue à examiner de nouveaux crimes relevant du Statut de Rome en Afghanistan.

Cooperation

L’Afghanistan a ratifié le Statut de Rome en 2003 et largement coopéré avec le Bureau du procureur dans le cadre de l’enquête préliminaire sur son territoire. La société civile reste cependant préoccupée par le fait que les forces américaines et d’autres forces d’occupation puissent influencer la portée de la coopération de l’Afghanistan avec la CPI.

L’obligation de coopération de l'Afghanistan en tant qu'État membre de la CPI comprend la coopération avec le Procureur dans le cadre de la conduite de l’examen préliminaire - y compris les prétendus abus de détenus - par les partenaires internationaux de l'Afghanistan dans l'invasion et l'occupation menées par les États-Unis après le 1er mai 2003.

Lors d’une rencontre liée à cette coopération en 2016, le deuxième vice-président de l'Afghanistan a fait une déclaration en accueillant une délégation de la CPI. Le gouvernement a également annoncé la création d'un comité technique des responsables gouvernementaux en Afghanistan et de la Commission indépendante des droits de l'homme de l'Afghanistan (AIHRC) pour négocier la coopération avec la CPI.

National prosecutions

En dépit de ses obligations en tant qu’Etat membre de la CPI, l’Afghanistan n’a pas mis à jour son code pénal de 1976 pour couvrir les crimes internationaux, ce qui a entravé les efforts au niveau local pour rendre justice aux victimes de violations des droits de l’Homme.

A la demande du gouvernement afghan, l’AIHRC a tracé « un plan d’action pour la paix, la réconciliation et la justice en Afghanistan » lancé par le président Hamid Karzai en 2006 pour instruire que la commission de crimes de guerre, de crimes contre l’humanité et de violations des droits de l’Homme « ne tombe pas sous le coup de l’amnistie au nom des principes sacrés de l’Islam et des normes internationalement adoptées ».

Contraire à ce plan d’action, la loi sur l’amnistie publique et la stabilité nationale de 2007 fait bénéficier d’une immunité juridique « tous les partis politiques et groupes belligérants qui se sont battus entre eux au cours des 25 dernières années », sans aucune limite temporelle à l’application de cette loi ou exception en cas de crimes internationaux.

Cette loi, considérée comme une violation du droit fondamental de réparation pour les victimes de violations des droits de l'Homme, a suscité une réaction véhémente des ONG nationales et internationales, de même que des préoccupations concernant la volonté de l'Afghanistan et sa capacité juridique à mettre fin à l’impunité.

Un seul membre de haut rang d'un groupe armé a été jugé en Afghanistan, pour des crimes commis en 1992-1993 avant l'adoption de la loi d'amnistie, mais aussi avant la compétence de la CPI. Le gouvernement n'a lancé qu'un nombre limité de procédures contre ses auteurs présumés, comme par exemple celle à l’encontre de deux fonctionnaires de la Direction nationale de la sécurité.

Les accusations d’abus de détenus par les forces américaines ont abouti à une condamnation - celle d’un ancien agent indépendant de l’Agence centrale de renseignements - et à la marge judiciaire de quelques dizaines de membres de l’armée. Dans la mesure où ces personnes ont été jugées responsables de cas isolés de cruauté envers les prisonniers afghans, la société civile a estimé que les Etats-Unis n’avaient pas réellement mené d’enquête.

En ce qui concerne le bombardement aérien d'un hôpital de Médecins Sans Frontières à Kunduz en octobre 2015 par les forces armées américaines, une enquête de l'OTAN a conclu que le bombardement résultait d'une erreur humaine. La seule conséquence a été la suspension des personnes les plus directement impliquées dans l'incident.

Civil society advocacy

Les groupes locaux de la société civile en Afghanistan ont joué un rôle central en plaidant pour que les préoccupations des victimes et les questions de justice et de responsabilité soient incluses dans le processus de justice transitionnelle en Afghanistan.

En mars 2005, le gouvernement afghan a nommé une commission interministérielle avec des hauts représentants des ministères des Affaires étrangères, de la Justice et de l’Intérieur, De la Cour suprême, De l'Université de Kaboul, et de l'Organisation professionnelle de la société civile afghane pour les droits des minorités. L'objectif de la Commission était d'évaluer et de déterminer les étapes vers la mise en œuvre du Statut de Rome dans les lois nationales.

Au cours d'une table ronde en mars 2006, la Commission a élargi son adhésion à d'autres acteurs, y compris des organisations de la société civile. La Commission indépendante des droits de l'Homme en Afghanistan a préparé un avant-projet de loi d'application de la CPI, qui a reçu des commentaires de divers acteurs et a ensuite été présenté au ministère de la Justice, où il est resté en l’état depuis 2007.

Selon les membres locaux de la Coalition, il n'y a eu aucun développement pour sa mise en œuvre depuis 2007.

La société civile en Afghanistan et au Moyen-Orient a travaillé avec la Coalition pour la CPI en traduisant des documents clés, en facilitant les discussions avec le gouvernement et en le sensibilisant à l'importance des activités de la CPI dans le pays. Ces efforts ont été essentiels pour préparer les dirigeants afghans et le grand public à engager de sérieux débats sur le rôle de la justice et l'importance d'un processus de paix.

Campaign for global justice

Neither signed nor ratified/acceded
Neither signed nor ratified/acceded
Crime of agression
Not ratified
10 February 2003
27 June 2017
27 June 2017
Article 8
Not ratified
27 June 2017
Cooperation: 
In progress, but stalled
Complementarity (national prosecutions): 
In progress, but stalled

Afghanistan

In 2017, the ICC prosecutor requested to open an investigation into alleged crimes by Afghan and foreign government forces and anti-government forces, after 1 May 2003. A decision is pending. Afghanistan is an ICC member state.
Regions: 
Asia-Pacific
On 3 November 2017, the ICC prosecutor requested authorization to open an investigation into war crimes and crimes against humanity allegedly committed since 1 May 2003 on the territory of Afghanistan as well as war crimes closely linked to the situation in Afghanistan allegedly committed since 1 July 2002 on the territory of other States Parties to the Rome Statute. A decision by pre-trial judges is pending, which can take up to three months.

ICC Prosecutor requests opening of investigation

Statement of ICC Prosecutor, Fatou Bensouda, regarding her decision to request judicial authorisation to commence an investigation into the Situation in the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

The quick read

  • Afghanistan faced several periods of civil war since the 1970s and experienced over a decade of conflict following the United States-led invasion of the country after the 11 September 2001 attacks.
  • In 2007, the ICC prosecutor announced a preliminary examination to determine whether conduct by Afghan and foreign government forces, as well as anti-government forces such as the Taliban, after 1 May 2003 may amount to war crimes and crimes against humanity.
  • Afghanistan is an ICC member state, having acceded to the Rome Statute in February 2003
  • In 2017, Afghanistan enacted a new criminal code incorporating provisions on war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, and the crime of aggression - the four core international crimes within the subject matter jurisdiction of the ICC.
  • Such implementing legislation, which includes provisions on command responsibility as well as recruitment of soldiers under 18 years of age, will prove crucial to Afghanistan's ability to address Rome Statute crimes within the domestic jurisdiction. 
  • Afghanistan has not ratified the Agreement on Privileges and Immunities of the ICC or the Kampala Amendments to the Rome Statute.
Background
After the 11 September 2001 attacks by Taliban members in the United States, the US-led invasion of Afghanistan resulted in over ten years of war in the country. The US-led coalition of allies, joined by the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in 2003, launched air strikes and ground operations in Afghanistan to oust the Taliban from power and dismantle the al-Qaeda terrorist group responsible for the attacks on the World Trade Center in New York. A transitional Afghan government was installed in 2002, and the UN Security Council subsequently established the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) by Resolution 1386. Intended to assist the Afghan government in combating the Taliban and other armed groups, ISAF later came under NATO command. International forces withdrew major combat missions from Afghanistan in December 2014, although a new, smaller group of forces remains present to offer training and assistance to Afghan security forces. From the start of the war to the withdrawal of international forces, 26,000 are reported to have died and over 29,900 civilians have been injured.
ICC situation

The ICC Office of the Prosecutor (OTP) made the preliminary examination into the situation in Afghanistan public in 2007. In one of the longest running OTP preliminary examinations, the prosecutor has looked into alleged crimes against humanity and war crimes committed on Afghan territory after 1 May 2003.

The OTP has found a reasonable basis to believe that war crimes and crimes against humanity were and continue to be committed by members of Afghan and foreign government forces, and by anti-government forces such as the Taliban. The ICC prosecutor is assessing whether genuine national criminal proceedings exist to address these crimes before developing any cases to bring before the ICC.

The ICC admissibility assessment not only looks at criminal proceedings in Afghanistan, but also in the United States and by other NATO states suspected of sanctioning unlawful conduct as laid out in the Rome Statute. There has been little evidence of meaningful national prosecutions according to civil society.

The OTP meanwhile continues to examine new alleged Rome Statute crimes in Afghanistan.
 

Cooperation

Afghanistan acceded to the Rome Statute in 2003 and has largely cooperated with the OTP preliminary examination on its territory. Civil society, however, remains concerned about the possible role of the US and other occupying forces to influence the scope of Afghanistan’s cooperation with the ICC.

Afghanistan’s obligation as an ICC member state to cooperate includes cooperation with the OTP examination of conduct – including alleged detainee abuse – by Afghanistan’s international partners in the US-led invasion and occupation of Afghanistan after 1 May 2003.

In a positive show of cooperation, the second vice president of Afghanistan made a statement in 2016 welcoming an ICC visit to Afghanistan. The government also announced the creation of a technical committee of government officials and the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission (AIHRC) to broker cooperation with the ICC.

National prosecutions

Until 2017, despite its obligations as an ICC member state, Afghanistan had not updated its 1976 Criminal Code to cover international crimes, which frustrated domestic efforts to deliver justice to victims of gross human rights violations.

In 2017, Afghanistan enacted a new criminal code incorporating provisions on war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, and the crime of aggression - the four core international crimes within the subject matter jurisdiction of the ICC. Such implementing legislation, which includes provisions on command responsibility as well as recruitment of soldiers under 18 years of age, will prove crucial to Afghanistan's ability to address Rome Statute crimes within the domestic jurisdiction. 

The Criminal Code will enter into force in 2018.

At the request of the Afghan government, AIHRC charted an “Action Plan for Peace, Reconciliation and Justice in Afghanistan”, launched by President Hamid Karzai in 2006, to instruct that the commission of war crimes, crimes against humanity, or obvious human rights violations “does not fall into the scope of amnesty on the basis of the principles of the sacred religion of Islam and internationally accepted standards.”

Contrary to the Action Plan, the 2007 “Law on Public Amnesty and National Stability” granted legal immunity to “all political parties and belligerent groups who fought each other during the past two and a half decades”, without any temporal limit to the law’s application or any exception in the case of international crimes.

The move, viewed as a violation of the fundamental right to redress for victims of gross human rights violations, spurred a vehement reaction from national and international NGOs, including concerns about Afghanistan’s willingness and the ability of the Afghan legal order to put an end to impunity.

Only one high-ranking member of an armed group has been put on trial in Afghanistan, for crimes committed in 1992-93 – prior to the passing of the amnesty law, but also prior to ICC jurisdiction. The government has launched only a limited number of proceedings against its own alleged perpetrators, such as two officials from the National Directorate of Security.

Allegations of detainee abuse by US forces have resulted in one conviction – of a former Central Intelligence Agency independent contractor – and the court-martialing of a few dozen members of the military. Considering that these individuals were deemed responsible for isolated incidences of cruelty towards Afghan prisoners, civil society has alleged that the United States has not genuinely carried out an investigation.

Regarding the October 2015 aerial bombardment of a Médecins Sans Frontières hospital in Kunduz by US armed forces, a NATO investigation concluded that the bombardment resulted from human error. The only outcome was the suspension of the individuals most closely associated with the incident.

Civil society advocacy

Local civil society groups in Afghanistan have played a pivotal role in advocating for victims’ concerns and issues of justice and accountability to be included in Afghanistan’s transitional justice process.

In March 2005, the Afghan government appointed an inter-ministerial Commission with senior representatives from the ministries of foreign affairs, justice, and the interior; from the Supreme Court; from the University of Kabul; and from the civil society organization Afghan Professional Alliance for Minority Rights. The goal of the Commission was to evaluate and determine steps toward implementation of the Rome Statute into national laws.

During a March 2006 roundtable, the Commission expanded its membership to other actors, including civil society organizations. The Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission prepared a preliminary draft on ICC implementing legislation, which received feedback from various actors and was then presented to the Ministry of Justice.

Civil society in Afghanistan and the Middle East have worked with the Coalition for the ICC facilitating discussions with the government and raising awareness of the significance of ICC activities in the country. These efforts have been key in laying the groundwork for Afghan leaders and the general public to engage in serious debates on the role of justice and the importance of an inclusive peace process.
 

Campaign for global justice

ICC Rome Statute

Ratified/acceded (ICC member state)
10 February 2003

Kampala Amendments to Rome Statute

Crime of agression
Not ratified
Article 8
Not ratified

Agreement on Privileges and Immunities of the ICC

Neither signed nor ratified/acceded

National ICC legislation

Cooperation: 
In force
Complementarity (national prosecutions): 
In force